HOMOPHOBIA IS A SOCIAL INJUSTICE

LGBTQ+ community members still face large amounts of inequality in everyday life due to their life choices and sexualities.

There is no denying that members of the LGBTQ+ community have been treated differently to others since as long as the idea has been around and whether or not you see it or take part in it, LGBTQ+ people are still attacked and ostracised every day, and it is socially unacceptable.

Whilst many think that our society should be a space where everyone feels safe and accepted, others have radical views and find certain variations of people to be different to everyone else. LGBTQ+ members are one of those variations and there are surprisingly still many people who feel that any sexuality that is not heterosexuality is wrong and should not be tolerated. When 30 people were asked whether or not they thought the LGBT+ community is treated fairly 93% of the group said no. To follow this, 100% of the group surveyed said that they would be willing to work with a member of the LGBT+ community.

On June 12 2016, 49 people were killed and 53 others wounded in a hate crime inside Pulse, a gay nightclub in Orlando, Florida. The shooter, Omar Mateen, a 29-year-old security guard was shot dead at the scene by police after pledging his allegiance to the Islamic State Group. Mateen’s act of violence was the worst mass shooting in modern US history. After the attack many people would leave flowers and candles and stuffed bears to show their respect for the lives’ lost, those wounded and their families. The Orlando community showed a large amount of unity after the incident as well as the rest of America. Many other countries paid their respects to the friends and families of those lost and hurt during the attack in several ways. The Prince and Duchess of the British Royal Family showed their sympathies by meeting the parents of the Pulse Nightclub victims and paid their respects. When surveyed, 100% of the group said that they were aware of the incident.

Whilst equal rights for LGBT+ members are improving in today’s society, there are still many instances in which people aren’t treated fairly. A member of the public spoke out to say, “more people are accepting of it, but they’re still treated as if they’re not human and it is pretty disgusting to be honest.”, Amber, 16 from Dover then continued to say, “I believe in gay rights but I don’t think it should be a thing, like everyone should just have the same rights.” Another member of the public also said, “Yeah, I think with the older generation it’s not as great but it’s just a normal thing nowadays with the younger generation, everyone is just accepted.”

Although homophobia has gotten better over the years, there is still a lot of discrimination present, and there are many people who are hoping that, that small flame will be extinguished sooner rather than later, as the hate crimes against the LGBT+ community seem to be getting worse again. The unity between those who stand against these hate crimes is inspiring to those who believe in equal rights and it is that determination and inspiration that will pull our society out of the dark.


Evaluation:

Overall I am pleased with the final result of my article as I feel that it reflects the research I have carried out on the topic.

I think my biggest strength within this piece was writing about the Orlando shooting incident as I think that my research on that was the most thorough. I also think that because I am quite passionate about this topic it made it easier for me to write about it because it flowed much faster for me.

However, I think that I needed to improve the way I wrote my vox pops into the text as I feel as though they may have needed some more detail and writing with them rather than me just stating what was said by the public.

The opinions that I used to inform my article were that the LGBT+ community are treated unfairly, which was useful to me as I was able to use them to back up my statements and to justify the points I was making. The statistics that I used in my article also helped me to back up my points as I was able to give anonymous public opinions.

 

