q1

The majority of people who responded to this question said that members of the LGBT+ community aren’t treated fairly. The remaining 6.67% said that they do think members of the LGBT+ community are treated fairly. I ask this question because I wanted to see whether or not people agreed with the way LGBT+ community members are treated, and I will use this in my article on homophobia to give examples of whether or not people think this community should be treated better or not.

 

q2

Everyone who answered this question said that they support the idea of gay rights, which will be used in my article to show that there are a lot of supportive people, and to back up my statement of homophobia being a social injustice. I asked this question because I wanted a figure to use in my article.

 

q3

Out of the thirty responses I received, 63.33% of people said that they think there is a lot of discrimination against the LGBT+ community, whereas 36.67% said that they think there is some discrimination against said community. I asked this question because I wanted to know how much discrimination people actually think there is against this community.

 

q4

The majority of people who answered this question said that they do not agree with sexual orientation discrimination (93.33%), however there was the¬†6.67% who said that they do agree with sexual orientation discrimination. The reason behind this question was I wanted to know if people agreed with this situation, or if they hadn’t really decided or thought about it.

 

 

q5

Everyone who answered this question responded by saying that they would be willing to work with someone who is a part of the LGBT+ community, and the reasoning behind this question was that I wanted to see how many people would say they didn’t agree with how these people are treated, but then would contradict themselves by saying they wouldn’t work with them, however this reason obviously wasn’t proved correct.

 

q6

Everyone who answered this question, 29 people, said that they have heard of the incident that took place in Orlando earlier this year, and the reason I asked this question was because I wanted to see if people were aware of the hate crimes.

q7

96.67% of the responses I received for this question were that innocent victims should not be subject to hate crimes such as the Pulse Nightclub incident, however there was 3.33% who had the opposite opinion. I asked this question because I wanted to know whether people agreed with the hates crimes that take place in the world against LGBT+ community members.

q8

Majority of the people who answered this question said that they think the media contributes to the negative portrayal of the LGBT+ community, however, 16.67% of the people who answered said that they disagree. I wanted answers to this question because I wanted to know whether people believed there was a slight causality to the negative portrayal.

q9

Majority of people, 93.10% said that the media should take responsibility in positively educating their readers about the LGBT+ community, however 6.90% disagree and do not think the media should take responsibility in doing so.

q10

73.33% said that social media should have stronger policies to protect the LGBT+ community, 83.33% said that public places should, and 3.33% said that neither one should have stronger policies to help the LGBT+ community. I asked this question because I wanted to see what areas of society people think should be improved to help this community.

