Transcript:

Questions:“What is your opinion on how people in the LGBT+ community are treated?”

Nicola, 22, Canterbury:

“I think for maybe our generation it’s not an issue. I think it’s maybe just introducing the idea to older generations, because that’s something that they’re not used to.”

Holly, 19, Canterbury:

“Yeah, I think with the older generation it’s not as great but it’s just a normal thing nowadays with the younger generation, everyone is just accepted.”

Greg, 47, Essex:

“I haven’t given it a lot of thought to be honest with you, but generally I think they are much more accepted than they were, but there are still lots of issues.”

Amber, 16, Dover:

“It’s appalling really, because obviously it’s become more well-known recently and sort of, more people are accepting of it, but they’re still treated as if they’re not human and it is pretty disgusting to be honest. I think they should be treated more human. I believe in gay rights but I don’t think it should be a thing, like everyone should just have the same rights, it shouldn’t be specified through sexual orientation, so I think definitely, not romanticising or glorifying it, but showing people that it’s not a bad thing, because there’s so much religion and things going on and religiously it is forced upon people so I feel like showing it is not a bad thing, it’s human and more projection of that is better.”


Evaluation:

To carry out my vox pops, I walked around the college campus and asked people if they were willing to dedicate a minute or so of their time to allow me to ask them the question I had prepared to gather information on my research topic. I was aware that I needed to seem approachable, even though I was the one approaching others, because it could have come across as rude or intimidating. I knew that I needed to ask my questions clearly, and needed to be prepared to explain what the question and topic entailed, should the person I was asking not know what my question meant.

I believe that the responses I received from the vox pops were effective, and they gave me the kind of useful information that can be used in my final written piece, and will contribute a lot to the accuracy of it considering the research was gathered primarily. I think the reason behind the effective answers I have gathered is that my question was quite simple and was easy to understand, therefore all of the people I interviewed understood what I was asking and gave their own opinions, which is exactly what I needed.

Next time to improve I would ensure that I approached and interviewed more than just four people, and I would probably have a follow-up question, of which I would use to gain extra information from the interviewee and use it to improve my understanding of their personal opinion before inputting it into my final piece.

Pros:

– Firsthand information (primary source)

– On the spot – interviewed doesn’t have the time to come up with a lie.

Cons:

– Unofficial source – not accurate or facts/figures.

– Interviewer may be biased – they could have had personal issues in the past with the topic you are discussing with them.

